Take Your Crown: Balance Your Crown Chakra and Achieve Higher Consciousness

There is no person I would use as a Crown Chakra icon.

It is a deeply sacred and personal experience for each of us.

But the growth of the lotus flower is compared to the seven chakras.

The Sanskrit name Sahasrara means “a thousand petals”.

It refers to the image of the white lotus flower which represents the highest level of consciousness.

While a thousand petals of a lotus flower reach the highest level of consciousness, the lotus grows in a pond of water.

Like our Root Chakra that draws energy from the ground, the lotus roots sink deep into the mud at the base of the pool, drawing nourishment from the ground.

The nourishment of the earth encourages the upward growth of the trunk, the Sacral Chakra, and the lower branches, the Solar Plexus Chakra.

At the water level, the midpoint, the leaves spread out as a platform, and the Heart Chakra, and the shape of the flower buds.

You can think of the flower as the highest expression of the plant, Chakra of the Islands.

Under the cosmic sunlight, the bud begins to open, the Third Eye, and the flower finally opens to full bloom, full consciousness, the Crown Chakra.

We can use this lotus example in our life.

The seed of potential, whatever our circumstance, is within us all.

By working with our chakras, we can open up and feel our potential.

When we balance and stimulate each chakra, we reach our highest consciousness.

We bring this potential and energy into the world with the Sahasrara “I am” affirmation.

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

The Seventh Chakra

Represents: Higher Consciousness, Connection to the formless, Realization of limiting patterns

Blocked by: Greed, Ego

Location: Right on the Center of the Head

Color: Purple or White

Mantra: Om/Ohm

Sound of Nature: Nothing

Stone: Amethyst, Auralite 23, Super 7, Lepidolite, Violet Fluorite, Scapolite, Selenite, Stitchtite, Charoite, Sugilite

God / Goddess: Shakti, Quan Yin

Regulates: Pituitary for Sleep and the Pineal Gland, the master of all other glands

Regulates Emotions: Mercy and Love

Purpose: Seni

Common Addictions: Shopping

Essential Oils: Lavender, Rose, Frankincense, Helichrysum

Why Should I Work on My Sahasrara?

  • If you have a sense of elitism.
  • If you have neurological or endocrine disorders.
  • If you suffer from sleep disorders.
  • If you experience depression and mental fog.
  • If you are materially focused and constantly need more.
  • If you are bored and frustrated.

An unbalanced Crown Chakra also plays a role in learning difficulties and mental illness.

If you suffer from the above list, explore your Sahasrara with us.


Symptoms of an overactive Sahasrara Chakra

  • God complex
  • Over-intellectualizing
  • Mental illness
  • A stroke
  • Alzheimer’s
  • Insomnia
  • Schizophrenia
  • Dizzy
  • Financially Irresponsible
  • A maniac

Symptoms of an Underactive Sahasrara Chakra

  • Depression
  • Apathy
  • Extreme Skepticism
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder
  • Materially Focused

What Can I Do to Heal My Sahasrara?

1. Ensure Quality Sleep

Make sure you cut out technology and screens before bed.

Sahasrara is associated with the pineal gland, which regulates sleep and sleep patterns.

By getting good quality rest, you are repairing and restoring the body and mind.

2. Keep an Amethyst Under Your Pillow

The purple energy of the amethyst is very soothing, and helps to calm anxiety.

Keep Amethyst under your pillow when you sleep to ensure quality sleep.

3. Apply a Lavender Essential Oil Blend to your Crown Chakra

Mix 4 drops of Lavender oil with 20 ml (or 4 teaspoons) in a carrier oil.

Dab the mixture on your head.

4. Go Outside for Some Sunshine

The Sahasrara element is the sun so spending time in the sun will heal this chakra.

5. Fasting

Fasting naturally opens our spiritual awareness.

If you can manage the hunger pangs and uncomfortable feelings that come with it, you can free up the energy that is typically occupied mentally and physically with food.

6. Wear Amethyst

Wearing amethyst, because of its incredible healing abilities, is a great way to keep this chakra balanced throughout the day.

7. Meditate or Pray

The purer and simpler, the better.

Get quiet with the simple closing of your eyes and focus on your breath.

When you are calm and at peace, communicate with your guardian angel, or say a prayer.

8. Chant Sahasrara Affirmations

“Om Namah Shivaya”